Prejudice Isn’t An Option

10 Jan

If we were to wake up some morning and find that everyone was the same race, creed and color, we would find some other cause for prejudice by noon — George Aiken


In light of the recent incident befalling Malaysia (here for more stories), it’s a denial if I said I wouldn’t mind at all. I do mind, yet I am not being prejudice and vindictively unforgiving. After all, whatever happens, I love my Muslim friends as well. That is a truth. An honest one.

Day 2. I was having a decent chat with a friend. He is a nice guy and a bubbly company, and on top of that, is agreeably good-looking! Halfway through, the hot topic was brought up out of the blue. A blurting out of an (innocent) sentence “I’m just afraid that you’re gonna set up a trap for me” caught me off guard. Am I that type of person to trap my Muslim friend to such extent when all I did say was “when you’re back in KK, let’s movie-and-food-hunting together!”?

He is afraid, I am too. But, I won’t let those bunch of people who did the shameful acts to get in the way of my befriending all people. I’ve come to realization when he blurted that sentence out, that there is no way I would stereotype a person just because of his faith. My answer is: No, I am not revengeful for what has happened. To say that I’m not the least angry and mad towards those act is a lie. Yes, I do feel angry for the bunch of people. The malicious ones only. I was glad he was glad I never intended to set him up. No way, he’s been good with me.

My point is, whoever our God is, and whatever words we use to describe our God, He never wants us to be in this confusing turmoil. Prejudice never is the answer. Prejudice never is the option. Even amongst our own creeds and beliefs, PREJUDICE creeps in unaware.

I only have one wish — I wish to live in peace with my fellow brothers and sisters of all races, creeds and colours. Nothing but a sincere truth.

6 Responses to “Prejudice Isn’t An Option”

  1. Gallivanter January 14, 2010 at 6:46 AM #

    Love the quote, a confirmation of the ugly side of human nature.

  2. himitsunoonna January 16, 2010 at 1:41 PM #

    i love this post…a true awakening and an evidence of pure neutrality 🙂
    say no to prejudice!

    -van-

    • Elvie Dechantal January 16, 2010 at 5:20 PM #

      Thanks dear! Yeah van, my instinct was to post this. After much thoughts. I believe in what I believe!

  3. Amanda January 23, 2010 at 2:34 AM #

    You know, i posted a link about the news on this thing…and it brought a cold atmosphere right away between me and my classmates (who are mostly muslims)…it’s really sad how this thing could break people apart.

    • Elvie Dechantal January 23, 2010 at 3:01 AM #

      It really is. Whatever it is, life can be cruel to us. in a way.

Leave a Reply

